582 yards for the Ivy League co-champio | Forum

Topic location: Forum home » General » General Chat
THE 2 EVENTS1 mens tournament1 womens tournamentTHE FORMAT24 teams of 2 players, split into 6 groups. Marco Hernandez Jersey . The top 2 in each group advance to the second round, along with 4 of the 6 third-placed teams. A knock-out phase then leads from the round of 16 to the final.MILESTONES1895Volleyball is invented by the American William G. Morgan.1920sBeach volleyball starts to gain popularity on the beaches of California and later spreads to Europe, becoming the main sport of Frances nudist colonies.1950sBeach volleyball is taken a stage further as the first competition circuit is born, involving hundreds of enthusiasts and five Californian beaches.1960sIntroduction of sponsors and cash prizes. Celebrities including John F. Kennedy, Marilyn Monroe and the Beatles help to promote the sport.1983Founding of the Association of Volleyball Professionals (AVP).1987The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) establishes the mens world championships in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil - an important step in the struggle for prominence between the FIVB and the AVP.1989Creation of the World Tour, which attracts huge crowds.1996Beach volleyball makes its Olympic debut at the Atlanta Games.2003Merging of the FIVB and AVP circuits begins.STARSKarch Kiraly (United States)The all-rounder. Winner of two volleyball gold medals in 1984 and 1988, he added a third Olympic title by winning the first beach volleyball gold in 1996. World champion in 1986 and European Cup winner in 1992.Sandra Pires (Brazil)The pioneer. With her compatriot Jacqueline Silva, the Brazilian won the first womens Olympic beach volleyball gold in 1996. Added the the world title in 1997 before winning Olympic bronze in 2000 with Adriana Samuel.Kerri Walsh Jennings & Misty May-Treanor (United States)Considered the greatest beach volleyball team of all time, Kerri Walsh Jennings and Misty May-Treanor have won gold at three consecutive Olympics (2004, 2008, 2012) without losing any of their 21 matches. The American duo are also triple world champions (2003, 2005, 2007). Chandler Shepherd Jersey . The FA rejected Wilsheres appeal that the length of his punishment was "clearly excessive" and said Thursday his suspension begins with immediate effect. He will miss league matches against Chelsea on Monday and West Ham on Dec. Cheap Red Sox Jerseys Authentic . Now, with Game 6 set for Fenway Park and an 8:07 p.m. ET first pitch, the Detroit Tigers face the unenviable task of having to beat the Boston Red Sox twice, on the road, to advance to the World Series. http://www.cheapredsoxjerseys.com/?tag=cheap-fred-lynn-jersey . Scott won the Australian PGA last week in his first event in Australia since winning the U.S. Masters in April. American Matt Kuchar, ahead by two strokes with four to play and even with Scott with one to go, double-bogeyed the 18th after taking two shots to get out of a bunker. (STATS) -- Princeton running back John Lovett and Dartmouth linebacker Folarin Orimolade captured the Asa S. Bushnell Cup as the Ivy Leagues offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively, Monday.The leagues eight head coaches voted on the award. Lovett won the offensive award over Penn wide receiver Justin Watson and Orimolade was selected as the defensive winner over Princeton defensive lineman Kurt Huluba.Lovett, a 6-foot-3, 205-pound junior, was a jack-of-all-trades, also playing quarterback and wide receiver. He accounted for 31 touchdowns -- a program-record 20 on the ground, 10 passing and onne receiving. Brandon Workman Jersey. He had 411 rushing yards, 235 receiving yards and passed for 582 yards for the Ivy League co-champion Tigers.Orimolade, a 6-foot, 235-pound senior, led the Ivy League with nine sacks and tied for the league and national high in the regular season with five forced fumbles as well as finishing fifth in the league in tackles (83) and second in tackles for loss (14 1/2). He was a STATS FCS Buck Buchanan Award finalist for national defensive player of the year. ' ' '